How To Get Free Maps For Your Prepping Supplies

Maps are indispensable for travel, planning defense of your AO, and just knowing what’s out there. Git sum!

TheSurvivalPlaceBlog

maps-for-preppingBy Jeremiah Johnson – Ready Nutrition

ReadyNutrition Readers, undoubtedly most of you are working on whittling down that turkey, and preparing for the extremely scary times of the Christmas holidays.  Let us digress a bit from all the festive cheer and commercial drudgery to return to the business at hand.  This article is going to cover some information about maps, indispensable tools for you to thrive in a post-collapse environment.  There are several different sources for these maps on the free or on the cheap, and it’s good for you to be aware of them to prepare your supply of them for the times to come.

Firstly, let us not discount your telephone book.  Yes, the telephone directory holds quite a bit in local maps that you might want to take advantage of.  Usually in the front of the phone book are (for whatever your metropolitan area) maps of small…

View original post 1,320 more words

7 comments on “How To Get Free Maps For Your Prepping Supplies

  1. tonytran2015 says:

    Openstreetmap and opentopomap are free and you can even contribute details to them.

  2. Brittius says:

    I think any maps are better than no maps, however in a survival situation, my preference is a military grid on topographical map. Roads could be blocked or knocked out. GPS can be jammed or emit false signals from powers that be. Topo maps though not free, if a person knows how to read and use them, even for urbanized areas, are best. You get what you pay for.

    • I like topos, too. We are blessed with a great map store in our nearest metro where you can get anything you want. An interesting thing I ran across a couple of years ago are the state map gazetteers. Mini topo maps (not milspec) that cover an entire state, bound into a road atlas format. Lots of folks use them for ghost town hunting and exploration, and they are darned handy to keep in the car/truck. Bought one on Amazon that was listed as used for $10 and it arrived brand new in the original shrink wrap. Musta done something right that day. I don’t use GPS, not that I don’t know how, I just don’t like it, and I end up talking back (sometimes yelling) at the computer voice prompts.

      • Brittius says:

        I was given a GPS as a gift. Why? I don’t know. My entire life, I use maps. Fold them, mark them, reference them. I also used a chronograph when my eyes were young, to do timing runs and dead reckoning. Car, boat, hoof/hump. Everyone says I’m old fashioned but, I’m used to maps. Sometimes I get crazy and show people how to calculate time, speed, and distance, using.., a slide ruler. 🙂

      • My maps are EMP and CME proof. And there are some great paper-waterproofers out there to make them last longer. Yep, I’m old school, even though I will read on the computer, I prefer the tactile sensation of paper. A book in the hand is worth 2 on the laptop?

      • Brittius says:

        Correct. Like I said, a GPS can be jammed. Another problem is, if, an enemy had control of the satellites, false information could be sent to the GPS signal. I will stick with paper.

Leave a Reply

