Certain Remington 700 Rifles Subject To Voluntary Recall

Give Me Liberty

H/T AmmoLand.

Please help me spread the word about this recall.

USA-(Ammoland.com)- You may be eligible to have your firearm retrofitted or receive other benefits.

Recently, a federal judge ordered the parties in an economic-loss class action to remind owners of certain Remington firearms that a settlement has been reached. The settlement involves two classes.

The first class includes owners of firearms that utilize a trigger connector. The second class includes owners of firearms that utilize the X-Mark Pro trigger mechanism that is the subject of a voluntary safety recall.

The settlement allows owners of Remington models 700, Seven, and related models to have their trigger replaced free of charge, among other benefits.

The settlement was entered following allegations that Remington firearms can fire without a trigger pull. Remington denies those allegations with respect to the trigger connector but is offering trigger replacements to ensure continued satisfaction for its…

View original post 299 more words

8 comments on “Certain Remington 700 Rifles Subject To Voluntary Recall

  1. Notwende says:

    Rem 700’s seem to have quality problems again.
    As far as I can recall this rifle once had problems with their barrel’s steel. A couple of them split while shooting.
    That’s a shame since the Rem 700 set standards for reliability and precision.
    I myself have a Howa 1500 in .308 Win. It’s a nice and very accurate rifle.

    • Yes, lack of quality control will chase customers away. My youngest son ended up buying a Savage in .308 due to the price and surprisingly good quality.

      • Notwende says:

        I was thinking about a Savage, too but I didn’t like the AccuTrigger.
        Yet, my .17HMR is a Savage 😀

      • He didn’t get the AccuTrigger, and even though the trigger pull could be better, it is adequate for deer hunting. His one complaint was that the rifle didn’t have iron sights, and though he uses both scopes and red dots on his other rifles, he really prefers using irons sights as much as is practical.

      • Notwende says:

        I replaced the Howa-trigger with a Timney. Really nice. Glassrod breaking. My rifle doesn’t have iron sights either. My scope is a IOR 10×56.
        Very clear and crisp picture bur it might have been better buying a 6x scope instead.

      • Timney’s are great triggers. Right now son is saving for an EoTech red dot for his AR-15. He’s not a big fan of red dots but he figures if he has one it should be the best he can afford. Son shoots the AR more than anything else due to ammunition costs, but he really likes his .308. Since a trigger replacement is not that expensive, I will try to get him to put in a better one. I know he would appreciate the difference.

      • Notwende says:

        I tried out red dots and those (dunno how to call them – the reticle is being projected onto the glass you look through)…
        I can’t figure out how to reliably aim and shoot with these. But I guess they’re especially meant for semi autos which I don’t own.

      • Yes, those types of sights seem to have been developed to assist in close-quarters fighting. I learned on iron sights and the red dot can be distracting to me. Anything closer than 25 yards is OK with red dots, but I was trained in the army to use the regular sights from up close out to 400 meters, so the red dot and projection sights are not necessary, but more like a fun toy.

Leave a Reply

