Jewelry

Not a jewelry person.  I don’t even wear my wedding ring anymore (she doesn’t mind, she knows I know I’m married).  Too much chance of injury.  No earrings, no piercings.  I don’t even have any tattoos.  A pretty plain, vanilla, boring guy.  I do however wear a necklace.  While I would never want to bring a knife to a gunfight as my primary weapon, I always want to have a blade for a backup.  Or maybe 2 blades.  Actually, I normally carry 3 blades on a daily basis.  Whether I’m in a suit, jeans, or tactical pants, I have 3 knives on me. 

I had to do some thinking about this one.  I really like a big knife.  A long blade increases my chance of cutting my enemy without getting cut in return.  One must always expect to get cut in a knife fight, but that doesn’t mean you need to get cut more than necessary.  Winning a knife fight should not be about who bleeds out first. 

Anyway, this little 2-inch blade is just the razor sharp surprise you may need.  I have one big beef with the knife as it comes:  It has a nylon neck cord.  I do not want anything around my neck that can be used against me.  Getting a rope around your neck caught on the wrong thing could get you decapitated, which is guaranteed to ruin your day.  Providing your enemy with a ready-made garrotte is also an extremely bad idea. 

Solution?  Simple:  Amazon, the purveyor of all things to all people.  A 30-inch stainless steel beaded neck chain (think dog tags) is dirt cheap replacement for that dangerous nylon choke rope.  If you really need some rope, make yourself a paracord bracelet ( should already be part of your EDC, anyway).  The SS beaded chain will not oxidize and leave green and black crud on your skin or clothes.  It is strong enough to retain the knife and sheath, yet can be broken to escape a bad situation. 

A 2-inch blade can be carried concealed most places and not considered a concealed weapon.  Yeah, the pansy TSA won’t let you take it on the plane, and you’ll have to leave it in the gun locker when you go into the courthouse even if you are an LEO.  I had to heat the Kydex sheath and re-tension the lips to get the amount of retention I wanted, but that was so minor that the only reason I mention it is to let those that haven’t worked with Kydex before know that it can be done.  Check this out at your local store, on-line supplier, or get it direct from CRKT.  I own a bunch of their blades and absolutely love them as a non-custom, OTC knife manufacturer.  Fantastic customer service, too.

crkt-folts-edc

9 comments on “Jewelry

  1. Brittius says:

    Reblogged this on .

  2. Notwende says:

    I also wear a neckknife on a daily basis. Mine is made by Cold Steel. The cord around the neck has been replaced by a thin strand of lesther that tears off easy enough. It is just strong enough to withstand the pull needed to draw the blade out of its sheath.

    • I looked at the Cold Steel but ended up with the CRKT, mostly due to price. I’ve owned both Cold Steel and CRKT and can’t say anything bad about either. The CRKT was less expensive and still had great quality, so I went with it.

      • Notwende says:

        To be honest about my neckknife – I purchased it dirt cheap straight from China so I guess it must be some fake re-make even though it bears the Cold Steel logo.
        Thinking of it it must be a forgery since when I wore it under my T-shirt the rubber coated grip gave me itchy pimples. Now that I cut away that toxic stuff it’s wearable 😁

      • Lots of good knives are made in China today due to manufacturing costs. I carry a Chinese-made Buck classic 3 blade folder in my pocket and the steel is amazing. My cheap knife is a S&W automatic made with 440 steel. Some 440 is good, some so-so. And even the same 440 (A, B, C, HC, etc) from different manufacturers varies in properties due to differences in tempering and hardening. I found a couple of fixed blades that I have been meaning to post about, so it looks like I’d better get working on that. Maybe Steveknife will see this and put in his opinion. I’m not that much of a knife guy, but I know what I like and what works for me.

      • Notwende says:

        Judt finished a dagger made of a file blade. Love it!
        Now I need to think of building a nice sheath for it.

  3. steveknife says:

    I do wear a Cold Steel brand neck knife. And like you replaced the standard chain with a more serviable one. I am in the process of looking at one that is custom made. When I get one I like I will let you know. I also carry a belt knife, which is custom and an automatic knife in my pocket.

Leave a Reply

