How Much Food Is Enough?

Enough for your family?  Enough for your good neighbors and friends?  Enough to set you up as a supplier?  Personally, as a Christian Prepper, I want to provide for my family to satisfy 1st Timothy 5:8 “But if anyone does not provide for his own, and especially for those of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.” NASB

Now, as a believer, to provide above and beyond that is giving you the opportunity to bless people and witness to them in a tangible way.  James 2:16 says “and you say, “Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well”–but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do?”  Talk is cheap.  Backing it up goes the extra mile.  If you tell someone to be blessed and don’t help them, you’re just being an ass.  True Christianity is about action, not yap.

So, to answer the question of ‘how much food is enough?’ you have to consider your purpose for storing food.  I want to help people.  I don’t store medical supplies because I plan on getting hurt a lot and patching up myself.  I have them so that I can attempt to extend the lives of innocent people.  I know about wild plants and herbs as food and medicine so I can save lives.  Remember the Twilight Zone episode and similar stories where one person ends up being the last person on earth?  Not fun.  I want to have a family, even if they are not all blood relatives.  People I care about and can count on.  If you have family, you are rich.

So, with these thoughts in mind, here’s an article for you to consider:

http://www.thesurvivalistblog.net/how-much-food-is-enough/

Leave a Reply

